ServSafe Alcohol Certification: Exam and Rules

Independent study resource. Not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by the National Restaurant Association, ServSafe, or any state or local health authority. “ServSafe” is a registered trademark of National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC. Requirements change — confirm with your local health department before you rely on them. How we research and check these guides.

ServSafe Alcohol comes in two tiers that people constantly mistake for one credential. Primary is 40 questions at a 75 percent pass mark, and the online version needs no proctor. Advanced is 70 questions at 80 percent, always proctored — the highest bar in the ServSafe family.

The more important question is whether ServSafe is even the right purchase where you work. Alcohol server training is regulated state by state, several states run their own program and accept nothing else, and California requires its own exam from its own portal for three dollars.

The two exams

PrimaryAdvanced
Questions4070
Passing score75% (30 of 40)80% (56 of 70)
ProctorNot required for the online examRequired
Typical useServers and bartendersWhere a state or employer specifies the advanced tier

Course and Primary exam list price is $30.00, and the certificate is recognized for three years.

One inconsistency in ServSafe’s own material: the Alcohol FAQ describes Advanced as 70 questions, while the state-acceptance page’s Maryland footnote refers to the “Advanced, Proctored Exam (60 questions).” That may be a state-specific form. If Maryland is your state, confirm the format before you sit it.

Where ServSafe Alcohol is accepted

ServSafe publishes a state-acceptance list, and it splits three ways.

Online course and exam accepted in roughly 40 jurisdictions, including Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, DC, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Instructor-led delivery only: Alabama, Colorado and South Carolina.

State program only — ServSafe is not accepted: Delaware, Hawaii and New Mexico, where the state alcohol authority’s own program is the only route.

Maryland accepts it but requires the Advanced proctored exam specifically.

Which states actually require server training

This is the part worth checking before you buy anything, because a certificate that satisfies no requirement is a certificate you did not need. Deadlines and terms are set by state law, not by ServSafe:

StateProgramDeadline after hireValid
WashingtonMAST permit, Class 12 or 1360 calendar days5 years, not renewable
OregonOLCC service permitMust be complete before working; $23 fee5 years
CaliforniaRBS, ABC-administered exam60 days3 years
IllinoisBASSET120 days3 years
AlaskaAlcohol server education course30 days3 years
UtahApproved alcohol server trainingBefore starting work (managers, 30 days)3 years
MontanaResponsible Alcohol Sales and Service60 days3 years
LouisianaResponsible Vendor server permit45 days4 years
TennesseeABC server permit61-day grace from hire5 years
DelawareResponsible server trainingNot stated4 years
VermontDLL seller/server trainingBefore starting work2 years
NevadaAlcohol education card (counties over 100,000)Not stated4 years
TexasTABC certification — voluntary30 days, only to qualify for safe harbor2 years

Michigan is different again: the mandate falls on the licensee, not on each server. The license holder must show proof of approved server training and must employ server-trained supervisory personnel during all hours alcohol is served.

California is its own system

If you work in California, do not buy a generic online alcohol certificate. The Responsible Beverage Service law requires anyone who checks ID for alcohol service, takes alcohol orders, pours or delivers alcoholic drinks to register in the ABC’s RBS Portal, train with an ABC-authorized provider, and then pass ABC’s own certification exam.

The fee is $3, non-refundable, with the exam included in the registration. The deadline is 60 days from your first date of employment, the exam must be passed within 30 days of completing training, and certification lasts three years.

ABC also answers a question workers ask constantly: non-compliance by a server is not a criminal violation, but the licensee can face administrative action if its servers are not certified.

Texas: voluntary, but everyone wants it

TABC states plainly that certification is not required by state law. What the law offers is “safe harbor”: if a seller is certified, all employees and managers are certified within 30 days of hire, the business has written responsible-service policies, does not encourage violations, and has had fewer than three such violations in a year, the licence is protected from an employee’s illegal sale.

That is why so many Texas job postings require TABC certification. It protects the employer’s licence, not the server. The certificate is valid two years.

What happens if you serve without one

Two published examples. Nevada’s fine schedule runs $500 for a first offense, $1,000 for a second, and $5,000 for the third and subsequent. Louisiana allows the commissioner to suspend or revoke a server’s permit or impose a fine for non-compliance.

In Washington, Oregon and Alaska the permit belongs to the worker, not the venue — Washington states it explicitly: “The permit is your property, not the property of your employer… Your permit can be used at multiple places of employment.”

Before you buy

Three checks, in order: does my state mandate training at all; does it accept private programs or only its own; and does it require a specific tier. That sequence saves the two most common wasted purchases — a certificate in a state that only accepts its ABC program, and a Primary certificate where the Advanced exam was required.

Alcohol certification sits alongside food safety credentials rather than replacing them. For the food-side requirement where you work, see our food handler card requirements by state.

FAQ

How long is ServSafe Alcohol valid?

Three years, per ServSafe. Your state may set a different term for its own permit — Washington’s MAST permit runs five years and is not renewable.

Do I need the Primary or the Advanced exam?

Primary unless your state or employer specifies Advanced. Maryland requires the Advanced proctored exam.

Does the online exam need a proctor?

Not for Primary. The Advanced exam and any printed exam must be proctored.

Will ServSafe Alcohol work in Delaware, Hawaii or New Mexico?

No. Those states accept only their own state program.

Is TABC certification required in Texas?

No. It is voluntary, but it is what gives an employer safe-harbor protection, which is why most Texas employers require it anyway.