How Many Questions Are on the ServSafe Exam?

Independent study resource. Not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by the National Restaurant Association, ServSafe, or any state or local health authority. “ServSafe” is a registered trademark of National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC. Requirements change — confirm with your local health department before you rely on them. How we research and check these guides.

There is no single ServSafe exam. There are five credentials with five different formats, and the count you need depends entirely on which one you registered for.

ServSafe Manager has 90 questions, of which 80 are scored. Food Handler has 40. Alcohol has two tiers, 40 and 70. Allergens has 40. Get the wrong one in your head and you will study the wrong scope and budget the wrong amount of time.

Every ServSafe exam, side by side

ExamQuestionsScoredPassing scoreTime limitProctored
Manager9080 (10 unscored pilot)70% — 56 of 802 hoursYes, always
Food Handler404075% (70% for the California course)None statedNo
Alcohol Primary404075% — 30 of 40Not statedNot for the online exam
Alcohol Advanced707080% — 56 of 70Not statedYes
Allergens4040Not published by ServSafeNone statedNot stated

Every figure above comes from ServSafe’s own pages: the Manager FAQ, the online proctoring FAQ, the Food Handler overview, the Alcohol FAQ and the Allergens FAQ.

Two contradictions in ServSafe’s own documentation

Worth knowing before you trust a number you found elsewhere.

The Manager passing score. The current FAQ says 70 percent — “answering at least 56 out of 80 questions correctly.” The ©2020 Examinee Handbook PDF still on ServSafe’s site says 75 percent. The FAQ page’s own URL even contains the old figure while its text states the new one. Treat 70 percent as current and the handbook as stale, but be aware that many third-party pages copied the 75 figure years ago and never revisited it.

The Alcohol Advanced question count. The Alcohol FAQ says 70 questions with a passing score of 56 of 70. The state-acceptance page’s Maryland footnote describes the “Advanced, Proctored Exam (60 questions).” Possibly a state-specific form, but the two pages disagree on their face.

Where a source contradicts itself, the honest answer is to say so rather than to pick the number that reads better.

Why Manager is the long one

The Manager exam tests supervisory judgment across a wider map: foodborne illness, purchasing and receiving, HACCP-based systems, facility management, staff training and regulatory compliance. Questions are scenario-shaped rather than recall-shaped.

It is also the only one of the five with pilot questions. Ten of its 90 questions are unscored research items, mixed in and indistinguishable from the rest, which is why the total and the scored count differ. You cannot identify them, and you should not try — answer all 90 as if they count.

Two hours is the limit, and ServSafe’s proctor instructions state it plainly: “Notify examinees that they have only two hours to complete the examination.” The online proctored version is available in English, Spanish and Chinese.

Why Alcohol has two counts

Because it is two exams under one name. Primary is the standard 40-question exam most servers and bartenders take, at a 75 percent cut score, and the online version does not require a proctor. Advanced is longer, at 80 percent, and always proctored — the highest bar in the ServSafe family.

Acceptance varies by state. ServSafe lists roughly 40 jurisdictions where the online course and exam are accepted, notes that Alabama, Colorado and South Carolina accept instructor-led delivery only, and that Delaware, Hawaii and New Mexico accept only their state ABC program. Maryland requires the Advanced proctored exam specifically. If a job posting says “ServSafe Alcohol certified” with no tier named, ask before you buy.

Retakes: the rule that actually costs money

For the Manager exam, ServSafe’s examinee handbook sets the schedule: two attempts within a 30-day period, then a mandatory 60-day wait before a third, and no more than four attempts in any 12-month period. Failing is the only legitimate reason to retake.

The part people do not expect: each retake is a new purchase. There is no discounted retest price published, and the online-proctored path requires buying another exam and scheduling another ProctorU session.

Food Handler works differently — three attempts included, after which you buy the course again. Allergens is the most forgiving: unlimited attempts until the course expires 90 days after you start it.

What each one costs

ServSafe’s published list prices:

  • Manager exam access code or printed voucher: $38.99
  • Manager exam with online proctoring included: $99.00
  • Manager exam at a Pearson VUE testing center: $99.00
  • Manager online course and exam: $152.95 (proctor fees additional)
  • Food Handler course and assessment: $15.00
  • Allergens course and exam: $25.00
  • Alcohol course and Primary exam: $30.00
  • Mailed paper certificate: $10

A standalone in-person proctor fee is not published, and neither is any discounted retake price.

Online proctoring requirements

If you take the Manager exam remotely, ServSafe requires a government-issued photo ID or valid student ID, a working webcam and microphone, and a laptop or desktop — phones and tablets are not supported. Log in at least 20 minutes early. No notes, no calculators, no food or drink, no second monitor, no virtual machine, no one else in the room, and your face visible throughout.

Exams not run through ProctorU still need a ServSafe-registered proctor physically present.

Quick answer by credential

  • Manager: 90 questions, 80 scored, 70 percent to pass, two hours, always proctored.
  • Food Handler: 40 questions, no proctor, no stated time limit, three attempts included.
  • Alcohol: 40 for Primary, 70 for Advanced — confirm which your state or employer requires.
  • Allergens: 40 questions, unlimited attempts within the 90-day course window.

Our free practice quiz runs ten questions at a time from a 103-question bank across eight exam domains, which is closer to the Manager exam’s scope than a fixed-length mock test. For the credential your state actually requires before any of this matters, see our food handler card requirements by state.

FAQ

How many questions are on the ServSafe Manager exam?

Ninety, with 80 scored and 10 unscored pilot questions mixed in.

What is the passing score for ServSafe Manager?

70 percent, meaning 56 of the 80 scored questions. An older ServSafe handbook still circulating says 75 percent.

Is the Food Handler test proctored?

No. ServSafe states the online Food Handler assessment does not require a proctor.

How soon can I retake the Manager exam if I fail?

Twice within a 30-day period, then a 60-day wait, with a maximum of four attempts in 12 months. Each attempt is purchased separately.

Do all ServSafe exams have pilot questions?

Only Manager documents them. The others publish a single count with all questions scored.