Food Handlers Card Pennsylvania: What's Required
Independent study resource. Not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by the National Restaurant Association, ServSafe, or any state or local health authority. “ServSafe” is a registered trademark of National Restaurant Association Solutions, LLC. Requirements change — confirm with your local health department before you rely on them. How we research and check these guides.
Pennsylvania does not issue a food handler card, and no state rule requires a line cook, server or dishwasher to hold one. What the state requires is one certified person per facility, at the manager level. If a Pennsylvania employer told you to “get your food handler card,” they were almost certainly describing either a county certificate, a company policy, or the manager certification you may be about to take on their behalf.
That answer changes in seven places, because seven Pennsylvania jurisdictions license and inspect their own retail food facilities instead of the Department of Agriculture: Allegheny, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Erie, Montgomery and Philadelphia. Two of them, Philadelphia and Allegheny, run certificate programs with their own fees, class hours and renewal clocks. Everywhere else in the commonwealth, the state rule below is the whole story.
The one certificate Pennsylvania actually requires
The Food Employee Certification Act, implemented at 7 Pa. Code § 46.1201, puts the obligation on the facility, not on each worker:
The Food Employee Certification Act requires that a retail food facility have at least one employee who holds a valid certificate present at the retail food facility or immediately accessible at all hours of operation and who is the person in charge of the retail food facility when physically present and on duty.
Three details in that sentence do real work. One employee, not all of them. Present or immediately accessible, which is looser than a physical-presence rule. And that certified employee becomes the person in charge whenever they are on the clock, which is why the role carries authority and not just a card.
The certificate must come from a program accredited against the Conference for Food Protection standards, and the facility must post the original certificate in public view. New facilities get 90 days to comply, and a facility that loses its certified employee has three months to replace them, per the Department of Agriculture.
Pennsylvania’s approved course listing names ServSafe, Learn2Serve, the Food Marketing Institute, Penn State’s FEC training, the National Registry of Food Safety Professionals, the Pennsylvania Restaurant & Lodging Association, and CENZA. Any of them satisfies the requirement.
One honest gap worth knowing before you plan around it: no Pennsylvania state source we could find states how long the state certificate stays valid. The Department of Agriculture page is silent, and so is § 46.1201. Four county programs say five years, which is also the term most accredited exams carry — but that is the exam’s term, not a published state rule. If the expiry date matters to you, call the Bureau of Food Safety at 717-787-4315 and get it in writing.
Philadelphia: the closest thing to a food handler card in PA
Philadelphia requires a Food Safety Certificate holder present whenever a food business is operating. The city’s guidance describes 16 hours of instruction from an approved provider, and the certificate runs five years before you retake an approved course.
The fee is refreshingly concrete: $30 for a new certificate or a renewal, $50 for a replacement, non-refundable, per the city’s certification page.
That “present whenever operating” phrasing is stricter than the state’s “present or immediately accessible.” A Philadelphia operator who leaves a shift covered by uncertified staff is out of compliance in a way a Harrisburg operator would not be.
Allegheny County: certified manager on the floor whenever TCS food moves
Allegheny County’s Article III food safety regulations set a harder rule than the state’s. Section 325 requires that every retail food facility handling unpackaged TCS food have at least one Certified Food Protection Manager present at all times when TCS food is being handled, with exemptions for 501(c)(3) organizations, volunteer fire companies and youth recreation groups.
Certificates run five years and § 326.5 requires re-passing the exam before the current one expires — no grace period, no lapse-and-renew. The county’s own courses are priced at $145 for the two-day class, $115 for the one-day recertification, and $75 for the challenge exam alone. Any ANAB-accredited manager certificate is accepted, so a ServSafe certificate earned elsewhere transfers in.
The other five independent counties, briefly
| County | What it requires | Term | Published fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bucks | Certified Food Safety Manager on site during open hours for TCS facilities | Not published | $80 application, $20 duplicate |
| Montgomery | CFSM must be a full-time employee; certificate issued to the person, not the site | 5 years | Not published on the program page |
| Chester | One employee with a county Certified Food Manager certificate; reciprocity for nationally accredited certificates | 5 years | Not published on the program page |
| Delaware | One supervisory employee certified; certificate posted; 90 days for new facilities | Not stated | Not published |
| Erie | Lists food safety manager certification as a county service | Not stated | Not published |
Montgomery County adds a detail that costs people their certification every year: the county no longer sends renewal reminder letters. Put your own expiry date in a calendar.
None of these five requires a line-level food handler card. Allegheny’s § 325(D) leaves the door open — the health department may require alternative food safety training for workers in facilities that do not need a CFPM — but nothing is mandated today.
So what should you actually do?
If you are a food worker in Pennsylvania, you do not need to buy a card to be legally employable. If an employer asks for one anyway, ask which certificate they mean and who accepts it, because a $15 online “food handler certificate” satisfies no Pennsylvania regulation. It may still satisfy your employer, which is a different question.
If you are opening or managing a facility, the state requirement is one accredited manager certificate, posted, with the certified person acting as person in charge on their shifts. Take the exam from an accredited provider before you open, and confirm with your licensing authority — which is the county, not the state, in the seven jurisdictions above.
If you are in Philadelphia or Allegheny County, budget for the local certificate and its renewal cycle. The state does not preempt them, and the county inspector, not the state, is the one at your door.
Requirements shift as counties amend their regulations. Verify against your licensing authority before you spend money: the state’s Bureau of Food Safety and Laboratory Services at 717-787-4315 or [email protected], or your county health department directly. For how Pennsylvania compares with the rest of the country, see our food handler card requirements by state.
FAQ
Is a ServSafe Food Handler certificate accepted in Pennsylvania?
There is no state requirement it could satisfy, so acceptance is up to your employer. ServSafe Manager is a different credential, and it does satisfy the state’s certified employee requirement.
Does my Pennsylvania manager certificate work in another county?
Chester and Allegheny both accept nationally accredited certificates, and the state requirement is accreditation-based rather than county-based. Confirm with the specific county before relying on it.
How long does the manager certification take?
Philadelphia describes 16 hours of instruction; Allegheny’s county course runs two days. Independent accredited providers offer shorter formats, since the state rule sets no minimum class hours — only the accredited exam.
What happens if a facility loses its certified employee?
Pennsylvania gives three months to replace them. New facilities get 90 days from opening.
Do food trucks need this?
Mobile facilities are licensed as retail food facilities, so the certified employee requirement applies. Multiple stands at a single event may share one certified employee with Department of Agriculture approval.